INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
saipk

Reply with quote  #1 
mine is Tin. I am having a difficult time to make it resonate. my ring finger against shahi seems to dampen it. Next difficult would be reverse-slide Ge .. and even fwd-reverse-slide Ge. What's yours and how did you overcome it?

Also, can someone pls how Theka is different from Tal?

For example, I thought TeenTal is

Dhaa Dhin Dhin Dhaa | Dhaa Dhin Dhin Dhaa | Dhaa Tin Tin Naa | Naa Dhin Dhin Dhaa

But in Davidji's book "Learning Tabla" this is mentioned as Teen Tal's Theka!? I know theka is kind of a signature to Taal, but can someone pls take a min and explain in layman's terms these - Theka, Taal, Kaida, Palta etc. What is the significance of each of these, say in a solo piece? What role do they plan in Tabla music? I am a beginner. Greatly appreciate your time!

---Sai
jantiff

Reply with quote  #2 
Don't worry... Tin takes years to polish. Try folding your ring finger a bit more (a tip from Pandit Shankar Gosh), look for the minimum possible contact with the gab to avoid dampening.

I have trouble playing consistent Tin, and often get frustrated by botching the loud Dha that ends a tihai. Still working on my ring finger position and also middle finger position to hit the center of gab in the right way.

Dheredere is also very difficult, mine sounds just ridiculous, again it's all hard work !

Right now TreKe (TreKre) is the most frustrating for me, since I have put quite some training into already and it still sounds just awful, very far from the light ornament it is supposed to be. Tips welcome :-)

About this theka and taal thing, in hindustani music the taal (cycle) is defined mainly by the theka (basic stroke pattern). In contrast, in carnatic music, the taal is defined mainly by a pattern of clapping hands.

In a solo piece, the theka will be your home, the reference pattern to establish the taal. It is what you play by default.