INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
rajabala

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello everyone .. my daya was attacked by a worm ... I do not know if the liquid pesticides can damage the skin and straps.the procedure is to distribute the liquid with a brush and close the daya in a plastic bag for 7days.maybe vapors can damage the skin and sihay? I have to disassemble everything and only work in the wood? I am a carpenter and I know the procedure but I fear that the skin is damaged ... what do you recommend? thanks
Lars

Reply with quote  #2 
You could try mineral spirits on the wood applied liberally and then close it in a bag tightly, the fumes should kill anything without liquid going on the skin.
What kind of dayan is it? I've never had a problem like this ever.....

Reply with quote  #3 
hi .. thanks for the suggestion.... the dayan is a 5,75 from banaras, seesham wood.
sohummusicals

Reply with quote  #4 
Quote:
Originally Posted by "rajabala"
hi .. thanks for the suggestion.... the dayan is a 5,75 from banaras, seesham wood.
If it is dark shesham wood it cant be attacked by termites. Just the white wood can be attacked by termites. If you have Kerosine or Gasoline, just Spray it on the Dayan shell and leave it for some minutes. the worms/Termites will get killed.
-U
Lars

Reply with quote  #5 
Gasoline or kerosene is pretty nasty in my opinion and highly flammable. Mineral spirits are less toxic and messy, you would still want to put it in a bag in case the bugs are inside the dayan just to be sure.

Reply with quote  #6 
Quote:
Originally Posted by "sohummusicals"
Quote:
Originally Posted by "rajabala"
If it is dark shesham wood it cant be attacked by termites. Just the white wood can be attacked by termites. If you have Kerosine or Gasoline, just Spray it on the Dayan shell and leave it for some minutes. the worms/Termites will get killed.
-U