INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Ramesh

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello Sirs and Madame's,
Namaskar.Ive recently moved to Tarzana California from the Philippines and Ive brought my sitar with me,a Mangla Prasad Sharma Teak sitar.Ive been playing it for almost 2 years in the Philippines with no problem.But just yesterday when I tried to tune the tarafs,I found it hard to turn the pegs.I actually snapped 4 or 5 strings doing it.I had to change the strings and be very careful in tuning them.
This is the first time this happened considering that I tune my sitar to C.Im thinking that maybe the weather has affected the neck or something since I never encountered this problem in the Philippines(which is a tropical country).Do i need to warm it up or something?Can I use a string lower or thinner than 0 for the tarafs and chikari?(is there even a string lower than 0?)
I would highly appreciate any advice from you senior musicians and maestros.
God bless you all.
sincerely,
ramesh

Reply with quote  #2 
Namaste Ramesh
May we presume you've had no problems with your main playing pegs?
If so then you might have to take out your taraf pegs & put a tiny bit of chalk on them before retuning.
Also give your sitar a little more time to settle.

Nick
Ramesh

Reply with quote  #3 
Namaste Nick,
I did exactly that.I removed the pegs,chalked them,changed the strings and yet two of the also broke.I guess youre right,I'll let my sitar adjust to the weather and try again in a week.Thank you so much for the advice.Hari Om.
sincerely,
ramesh

Reply with quote  #4 
Ramesh-ji
Is it possible the ones that broke were tuned a ilttle too high?

Nick
Sanjeeb

Reply with quote  #5 
About using chalk on the pegs to prevent slipping, an alternate I prefer is fine wooden sawdust as it is not abrasive.
Ramesh

Reply with quote  #6 
Namaste Nickji,