INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
joemc

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi, all, I want to play Tablas so the first step is to get a set. I understand that one of the best ways to get tablas is to go to India and try a bunch out with a lot of know-how about what to look for, but unfortunately I have no know-how and cannot go to India right now. 

So can anybody suggest a good dealer/importer for tablas?  I am in Los Angeles, CA.  I have been looking into tablasitar.com, olddehlimusic.com, and keshavmusic.com.  I would have to buy the tablas sight-unseen but it's not like I'm an expert at shopping for them. Budget would be $600 US.

I note that there appears to be a consensus that sheesham is the preferred wood for a dayan.  But Olddehlimusic.com says that sheesham was listed as endangered and so they have theirs made of neem - are neem dayans ok?  And on tablasitar.com, one of their makers from Kolkatta, Mukta Das, makes a lot of his dayans from maha-agni wood, rather than sheesham; is maha-agni acceptable for dayans?

Sorry for being long-winded.  I would appreciate any advise I can get.  Then I can go to the next topic: Teacher.

joemc

Reply with quote  #2 
Well, looking over past posts on this forum, it would appear that a favorite provider of Tablas on this board is Sohum Musicals.  Looking at their website, it looks good.

RagaMeister19

Reply with quote  #3 
You could check out Musicians Mall up in Berklee. They carry Tablas as well as Rain City Music. Good luck.[wink]
joemc

Reply with quote  #4 
Just got new tablas (Kuber Das) and had my first tabla lesson with Debasish Chaudhury. 😉
Gurveer

Reply with quote  #5