INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
arhatontabla

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi Everyone !!

I have been learning to play tabla since 6 years but have not found any good guru here in Nepal. So i find this forum as a guru in itself.

Can you guys share your knowledge regarding tabla solo playing?? What a tabalchi is required to play throughout the performance like Peshkar first then gats,tukras and eventually relas etc.
Shivadhyanam

Reply with quote  #2 
Hi, yes, the solo usually starts with Peshkar followed by Kaidas, Relas and the fixed compositions like gats, tukras and end with a chakradar or two. The Benaras solo is slighty different as it starts with an Uthan then followed by a Benarasi Theka (which serves the same functional porppose as the peshkar, meaning to improvise the theka in a poetic way and mimic the alap in instrumental music by slowly building up the tempo and prepare the atmosphere). Strictly speaking, or functionally speaking the Uthan serves to introduce or to open the solo which in the other Gharanas is served by the Peshkar. But when one is just a beginner one should concentrate in learning first kaidas, a rela or two, a few tukras and two or three gats plus two or three chakradars to build up a short solo. Add to it a short, simple uthan to start your solo. In this way you would play a simple uthan -> two kaidas -> a rela -> maybe two gats -> three tukras and finish with a chakradar. This way you may build slowly a ten minute or so solo. Only then, after you start to become more intermediate/good, you would start to learn Peshkar or the Banarasi Theka.

hope that helps.

Do you know Achyut Ram Bhandari? He plays and teaches tabla in Nepal I believe.

http://achyutrambhandari.com.np/
hbajpai

Reply with quote  #3 
Very nicely written with the mention of "Benarsi Theka", which in my opinion only the traditionally groomed students talk about.