INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
chrisitar

Reply with quote  #1 
When I used to play guitar I would imagine my fingers on the frets playing what I was humming/hearing in my head as a form of practice without the instrument. Now that I've been playing sitar and practicing ragas for so many years I imagine the notes as a point on a line, unlike a guitar which has multiple points on multiple lines. Does anyone else 'visualize imaginary practice' ie: imagine the back of the neck with your thumb in place, imagine your fingers pulling the correct notes? That doesn't work perfectly for sitar because of meend, though. There are many ways to get to a note, as opposed to most other instruments, so visualizing my fingers is harder. Do you visualize the swaras as a single point on a line or the distance pulled from a fretted string?

Reply with quote  #2 
I'm not sure its quite the right parallel, but studying Indian music has caused me to visualize music a bit more...it's purely melodic and modal nature is such that I see it almost like points on a line graph....when studying for my "recital" of the entire Jhinjhoti that I was taught, I took several of the more complex taans and drew them out as such, using curved lines to indicate meend, things like that.

Unrelated to Hindustani, but I love this technology:

Something about watching it while listening, one can understand so much more of it, as you can see as well as hear what each instrument is doing, notice patterns, etc.
Nastika

Reply with quote  #3