INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
VkDevotee

Reply with quote  #1 
I am fortunate enough to have heard different versions of the legendary Ustad's Darbari Kanada.

-the one with Shankar Ghosh (EMI's LP which was re-issued on CD)

-the one with Pandit Kishan Maharaj in London in 2002

But, does the following live concert in Calcutta (with Samta Prasad ji), take the cake?

Alap

Jor

Thanks Ashfaq sahib for sharing a wealth of Ustadji's concerts.
I am sure many of you have heard this version of Darbari already.
John

Reply with quote  #2 
Hello,

I'm no expert, but I know what I like and the Alaap from Vilayat Khansaheb's recording 'When Time Stood Still...' with Kishan-ji is some of the best sitar, nay, the best music I've ever heard.
I watched the DVD on Sunday in remembrance of the late maestro, so it's quite fresh in my mind.

Thanks for the links.

VkDevotee

Reply with quote  #3 
Quote:
Originally Posted by "John"
Hello,

I'm no expert, but I know what I like and the Alaap from Vilayat Khansaheb's recording 'When Time Stood Still...' with Kishan-ji is some of the best sitar, nay, the best music I've ever heard.
I watched the DVD on Sunday in remembrance of the late maestro, so it's quite fresh in my mind.

Thanks for the links.
Thanks for your comment. But the jor from this live concert gives one an other worldly experience.
panchamkauns

Reply with quote  #4 
Quote:
Originally Posted by "VkDevotee"
But, does the following live concert in Calcutta (with Samta Prasad ji), take the cake?
Yes! This is the best of the three by far!

(At 06:46 and 06:49 (alap) he works his signature phrase in there. It’s in everything he plays!)

(Everyone refers to the When Time Stood Still Darbari as the one with pandit Kishan Maharaj. But it’s also the one with Hidayat Khan, for me its defining feature.)

Reply with quote  #5 
There's another Darbari with Kishen Maharaj, courtesy of holistic. I can't locate his original post so have uploaded here in this folder