INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
andrew

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello all,

I've been a member of this forum since I was thirteen (I'm eighteen now), but during a long period of inactivity the email address associated with my account was deleted, so I've created a new account.

I'm picking up the tabla again after years of inactivity, and I'd love a bit of feedback on my progress so far. I have a fairly decent intuition for technique as far as I can tell, but it's hard for me to gauge my own playing, so I'd love it if other people could share their thoughts:

Thanks,
Andrew
evening84

Reply with quote  #2 
Oh ... to be young again ...

Lovely playing - great technique. Keep it up.

Tablatastic

Reply with quote  #3 
Thanks for sharing Andrew.

Enjoyed listening to it. You play well and nice technique.
edm_tabla

Reply with quote  #4 
I am not an expert but I really enjoyed your playing. May I ask what is the approximate bpm?

Thanks,
andrew

Reply with quote  #5 
Thanks much for the encouraging comments. If you have any critiques, please feel free to share them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by "edm_tabla"
I am not an expert but I really enjoyed your playing. May I ask what is the approximate bpm?
It's a drut tempo; a little tinkering with a metronome puts it around 145bpm. It fluctuates, though, so that's a very rough approximation.

Andrew
jaysitar22

Reply with quote  #6 
Hey,
I think your doing well, you have a lot of chops, I was curious do you have a teacher or are you self taught?
My tabla playing is not up to that level, (I have been studying tabla 7 months, but have been learning others instruments longer)