INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment   Page 2 of 2      Prev   1   2
Jeevie

Reply with quote  #16 
fosse, what a wonderful experience!

I grew up in a very "bollywood" kind of house. Indian movies on Sunday nights, and parents who appreciated music and encouraged everything I wanted to do. I had always wanted to learn the sitar but didn't pick it up until last year because I was kind of shy and nervous about learning. But I had an accident where I was off work for a year and decided to learn the sitar as musical therapy. It helped me get my memory and focus back and I now take 2 lessons a week. I am very fortunate that in Vancouver there are several teachers.
Raag

Reply with quote  #17 
How else is teaching sitar in Vancouver besides James Hamilton? I used to learn with James many years back
theactor10

Reply with quote  #18 
Guess I'll add my story, even though I'm very new to sitar. And yes, its gonna be stereotypical.