INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
charmaine

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi, I was wondering if anyone can offer me some advice. I've been playing sitar for 6 months and bought a Bhargava tun wood sitar at the time I started from a local music shop. Its not a fantastic sitar but everything has been fine with it, until today. Now, when I pluck the bottom sympathetic string it makes a dull noise because it vibrates against the bottom fret. For some unknown reason, it has become too close to the bottom frets and its never done this before. I changed the string but the problem remains.
I cant see any cause of the problem. The neck dosent look warped, I haven't moved the frets and it hasn't been knocked or damaged at all. My teacher has said in the past that sitars de-tune in hot weather, and it has been unusually hot today where I am, but this seems a bit extreme. My teacher lives quite far and I'm not seeing him until mid August but dont even know if theres anything he could do. Is this something simple to fix? My sitar is still under guarantee and I'm wondering if I should take it back to the shop? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!.
Sitarfixer

Reply with quote  #2