INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Rikishankar

Reply with quote  #1 
Nameste,
Excuse my lack of Tabla knowledge, for I am a current sitar student. I was wondering if someone could briefly explain what to tune my larger Bayan. Mine is currently tuned to E, but i assume it needs to be in either F#, C# or G#. I could be wrong though.
Again forgive my lack of knowledge, it was purchased yesterday.
Cheers,
Richard Hillson
scodoha

Reply with quote  #2 
You didn't say what the dayan is tuned to. Thats the most important one. If you're just interested in hearing the drums, any of those tunings is fine. If you're interested in learning the instrument, well at the point that you are it really doesn't matter. Tune it how you like it.
Rikishankar

Reply with quote  #3 
There is absolutely no reason to be so brash my friend. As I said, I have been posting on these forums for a while now (sitar) and i have not been met with such uselessness. Maybe my English wasn't good, I asked you what the traditional tuning was for the tabla. I have no clue, I would just like ot know more about it... i didn't ask for rude responces, and I didn't know what exactly how to ask it.
Try being understanding, this is for learning not criticism.
-Richard H.
scodoha

Reply with quote  #4 
My apologies. I didn't think I was being rude. I WAS trying to challenge you to greater effort however.

To answer your implied question, there is no traditional tuning.

For the sake of argument though; if the dayan is tuned to sa and sa is C then one might like to tune the bayan to sa as well, if thats too high then ma or pa an ocatave lower. Some players just like to leave it slack with no discernible pitch. You might like to tune it to the vadi or samvadi of the raga or perhaps slightly lower so when the hand rests on the head it actually comes into tune.