INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Olemunati

Reply with quote  #1 
When I read about the tabla masters I have noticed that they started out in a very early age.

I am a drummer myself and I know it's rare but in the drumming(drumset) community there is a few MASTER drummers who started late to play. One have Jim Chapin who started in his early twenties and is considered to be one of the most techniqally skilled players ever. He is perhaps the most extreme case. It's incredible that a man who starts to play in his twenties becomes one of the greatest players of all time. On a techniqally level he is dancing with Buddy Rich! This guy is unbelievable!

maybe a more famous drummer is Ginger Baker who didn't start to play drums before he was eighteen. He' s the drummer of Cream and is also a higly respected jazz drummer.

Is there anyone master tabla drummer who started out late?

It would be nice to know, just to have a more variety than the: I started to play when I was three, I started to play when I was seven, I started to play when I was four, He started to play when he was one...

Especially it would be extremely interesting to hear what a really good tabla player have to say about the learning experience...

I am just curious....

Reply with quote  #2 
Its about your love and passion for the instrument... and also the amount of practice u put in!
mbsobat

Reply with quote  #3 
Tabla is Riazat! You have to love to play Tabla and if you love it you will practice, practice and practice.
Anonymous

Reply with quote  #4 
to my knowledge, there are no master tabla players who started learning late in life. of course, it is a lifelong journey, but to become a master you would really need to start learning as a child. look at anubrata chatterjee or aditya kalyanpur. they are only in their early 20s and already ahead of 99% all of us. not to mention rimpa siva....