INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
JahBang

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi. My guruji of 11 years gets very upset when I share with him stuff that I find on YouTube. He thinks that I should only learn stuff that he gives me. (Farrukabad ghurana).And he says things like "in my day there was no YouTube" he says that it will effect my learning in a negative way. I very much enjoy learning some of the stuff that I find on Youtube. 
What do you think of this? Is he being old fashioned ? Can it really have a negative effect? 
saurav2614

Reply with quote  #2 
Hi JahBang
so you have been learning Tabla (Farrukabad ghurana) for 11 years, good job man!! Keep it up.  
(I am just ordinary a Tabla lover and no way I am an expert)To answer your questions....
1) Few years ago I read an interview (online portal) of Ustad Tari Khan and he said something like " One Tabla player should have only one Guru, like a man has one father"  
   There were plenty of comments on the page after the interview and one Tabla Player said (as far as I can remember) that Zakir Ji studied/ learned multiple Gharana's from more than one Guru and     that was why he was considered a complete Tabla player. 

2) I saw video of Pandit Sankha Chatterjeee (you will find it in youtube, there are 3 parts ) where he mentioned that he learnt form Ustad Keramat Ullah Khan Shabe for many many years. Then he went to Ustad AllahRekha Khan Shabeb and learnt for many many years too. Pandit Ji explained few kaydas that are similar in both Gharanas but he also explained the subtle differences. Watch it and I am sure you will love it.   

** what I want to say is that all the above mentioned persons(Ust Tari Sab, Ustad Zakir sab, Pt Sankha Ji) are great players in their own fields.

I hope other members will also share their thoughts re this topics. 

Thanks
Saurav

gatabera

Reply with quote  #3