INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Stephen.bansuri

Reply with quote  #1 

As a relative newbie I am having a problem with finding what the mystery about talas is to a properly trained musician who is experienced with post stravinsky rhythms.

If I look at Teental I can see that there are 4 basic beats each divided into four and that in Teental the ninth is traditionally a wave. Can someone tell me how this is different to a western musician looking at a bar of 16 and regarding each sixteenth as a separate beat. 

Even if we choose to get a little more adventurous within the 16 and group the 16 as3 3 3 3 2 or 2 2 2 2 2 3 3 which the notation system will cope with perfectly well and keep this pattern repeating, how is this different to the concept of cycles in tala?

we can take it further than that with the talas that have a much longer and more elaborate groupings of beats 17 16 is a perfectly useable and playable time signature as would be 31 32. And each of these can be divided at will and repeated. 

I am awarè that the western system will not allow for the pronunciation of bols but as regards cycle length and stress of meter is there something I am totally missing.

I am also aware that many amateur western players will not have had the experience and be less comfortable with the more unusual time signatures but I really am struggling to find something that is as difficult as it is presented to be. Any explanation gratefully received.

dhatitdha

Reply with quote  #2 
Please refer below link for some explanation about Beat, Tempo ( Laya ), Avartan, Taal.

http://vishwamohini.com/music/music.php?id=182

I have no knowledge about western rythm system so I will not comment on that

Here are my views
- Taal has Bhari [Clap] And Khali [Wave], which is unique to Taal system
- Divisions of Taals are fixed, they can not be changed, For example : Teentaal has divisions of 4 with 4 beats in each division 1 2 3 4 | 5 6 7 8  | 9 10 11 12 | 13 14 15 16