INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Adam A

Reply with quote  #1 
There has been a lot of talk about Surokar harmoniums, does anybody know where one can purchase one (or even see a photo)

I have been playing harmoniums for many years (mostly Paul & Co and Haribhau Vishwanath) and would like very much to see/hear/play a Surokar.
Lars

Reply with quote  #2 
I don't know anyone that has these in stock, they are very good harmoniums though. I ordered one for somebody awhile back and was in their shop a few weeks ago checking it before shipment. The tone is nice, they run a little sharper than A440. As for holding air, it's the best I've seen ever. Everything is made right in their shop, I have some video clips playing it, etc. Send me a PM as the clips aren't for public viewing, was only to verify its condition before shipping which went well thankfully...
DMS harmoniums are pretty good also, I like the tone of the Paul & Co...I've had several scale changers from them but I think the air chambers could be better.

Lars

Reply with quote  #3 
Hi all

About Surokar Harmoniums I can give my impressions: I have a surokar, bought a couple of weeks ago through Lars. I must say it´s really different from all the others I have played. The tone is very peculiar, very refined and very beautiful. Different from all harmoniums I have played.

It lacks at the moment some homogeneity between the notes in terms of some appearing to sound louder than others, but i think it is still suffering from the long trip to Brazil, because it´s getting better day by day. It arrived with a very "timid" sound but it flourished dramatically after a week of playing it

It has a very good loud sound as well, I had not the impression others in this forum had before of surokar harmoniums being very soft. It´s soft, but when you pump well....