INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
shurbahar

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello all,

I have a sitar with a tumba crack that I repaired, finished/painted, then allowed the finish to cure for 8 months. I’ve refit strings now have noticed certain ways in which I could improve it like adding a bass block, etc.

One issue I wish to address is when I play meend, the bridge shifts/slides ever so slightly, then goes back to position when the meend is relaxed. Why does this happen? The tabli too smooth/slippery? The pressure of the strings on the bridge is not enough to help the bridge stay put?

It seems that the bridge has good contact with the tabli, so, I’m wondering how to solve the slip issue.
One solution would be to anchor a very small bone peg into the table to serve as a stopper for the bridge. The other solution is to add a bit of varnish onto the feet to serve as a “glue”, keeping the bridge in place. The problem with this latter solution is that I don’t know which type of varnish is best and if it is available to me at my locality.

I thought about another solution. It is to do as the second solution, but instead of varnish, I add a bit of white glue. I was thinking that if I wanted to remove the glue later on, I could use a tamp tissue paper to melt up and clean away the glue.

What do you think? Anyone do this before? Any other suggestions. Please help.

Many thanks.
chrisitar

Reply with quote  #2 
I had this problem too, what i did was dilute white glue 50/50 with water and let it drip with a toothpick directly under the leg of the bridge that is closest to the foot when playing. Holds well enough and can be easily removed without harm.

Reply with quote  #3 
a few drops of hide glue will work, easily loosened with heat
shurbahar

Reply with quote  #4 
chrisitar, thanks for the advice. This might be the way I'll go.

fossesitar, where would I be able to get hide glue. Which trade uses it most often?