INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
katyrow

Reply with quote  #1 
Opinions on age of this sitar? No tarabs. No tabli carving. Chikari peg mid-way up the neck, which I've rarely seen. Thanks.

Attached Images
jpeg No tarab 2.jpg (134.20 KB, 8 views)
jpeg No Tarab 1.jpg (105.71 KB, 7 views)

StVitus

Reply with quote  #2 
I remember reading that sitars with no sympathetics are sold as student instruments in India.
StVitus

Reply with quote  #3 
Ah, found more than I remembered in Chaudhuri’s Plucked Instruments of Northen India, p. 6. Chaudhuri says that this is an older style that was prevalent in the nineteenth century, prior the addition of sympathetic strings, perhaps by Imdad Khan.
StVitus

Reply with quote  #4 
And Nad, p. 207, says of sitars that ”there are two basic types, the plain (sāda) used only by students, and the tarabdār (or tarafdār), the latter having 9 to 13 sympathetic strings…”
Sanjeeb

Reply with quote  #5 
I started learning on these types of sitars about 45 years ago in a small town in India. These were very common then.
cwroyds

Reply with quote  #6 
I love that style.
Sleek and incredibly simple.
I want to get a master maker to make me one like this, but with sympathetic strings.

These old student model designs owe more to the older style of sitar than our modern designs
I have a very ornate but much older sitar that shows where this came from.
This one has no sympathetic strings and the second chikari peg is half way up the neck, although it is not shown in the photos.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/carletonroyds/albums/72157638815426686
StVitus

Reply with quote  #7 
Quote:
Originally Posted by "cwroyds"
I love that style.
Sleek and incredibly simple.
I want to get a master maker to make me one like this, but with sympathetic strings.
Lars has one that’s pretty close: http://raincitymusic.com/mohanlalsharmasitar.htm