INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
musical2

Reply with quote  #1 
for difficulty of playing. I'm a total Indian music novice. Never even touched either yet. I'd like to purchase one sooner or later.

from what I read and hear, I get the impression that a surbahar might usually be played more slowly than a sitar.

Don't shoot me down anyway. I'm just trying to decide which one I would potentially get more out of in the short term.
povster

Reply with quote  #2 
Well, mirs are easier on the surbahar due to the lower pitch and looser strings. Fast passages are more difficlt on the surbahar due to the size of the instrument.

Thing is, and not getting down on you, what exactly are you looking for? Looking to do? Sitar and surbahar are different instruemnts and play different styles of the music. Sure, some might just buy a surbahar and just start playing what they know of sitar on it. But that is not what they are about.

Remember - you really aren't learning sitar or surbahar. You are learning Classical north Indian Music and the sitar or surbahar are one of the tools used to express that music.

So again - the critical quesiton is what are you seeking to achieve? I also noticed your "get more out of in the short term". Hmmm - can you clarify that?

povster

Reply with quote  #3 
I could have sworn this was in the Sitar forum. Did it get moved to Buying/Selling?
musical2

Reply with quote  #4 
Quote:
Originally Posted by "povster"

So again - the critical quesiton is what are you seeking to achieve? I also noticed your "get more out of in the short term". Hmmm - can you clarify that?