INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
pidluk

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi members,
I have been on the sitar for 3 years now and just want a change of phase /sound /itch.. for a little while or in combination from one to the other. I am leaning towards the Dilruba or the Esraj but more towards the Dilruba. My question is the transition between the two i.e sitar to dilruba about the same? has anyone in the sitar forum tried both.
Any advice? Also where to buy
Thanks
CheesecakeTomek

Reply with quote  #2 
It's a completely different instrument, despite any visual similarities.
Bowing is tough, especially when you start moving the other hand around the neck, and especially when sliding a note.
The coordination between the two hands is a totally different concept than for sitar.
There's no reason not to go for it, but you'll have to put in a lot of ground work with the various techniques.

And yes, I have been playing sitar for 9 years and personally tried playing an ears once, about 3 years ago. I have decent bowing technique because of childhood violin lessons, but I don't play anymore, so my neck hand is worthless. As soon as I went to slide the note my playing fell apart. I know I would have to start from scratch with the simplest S/R, R\S, R/G, G\R, etc. exercises and work my way up, so I decided not to pursue. Of course, now that I'm gigging more, I look at all the smaller instances with ever-growing envy...

But I digress. No discouragement intended, I know several people who play both quite beautifully. They have worked hard at it, though.
Lars seems to have a nice one: http://raincitymusic.com/indian-instruments.htm#Dilruba
Good luck!!
barend

Reply with quote  #3