INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Fil

Reply with quote  #1 
OK, I'm rather new to the details of sitar construction and theory. One of the things that strikes me about them is the choice of woods for the tabli, the way the grain is aligned (or not) and the shaping, together with all that added carved decoration.

Compared to many western instruments it differs quite a bit....OK, completely. Teak is a wonderful timber, but for a soundboard or belly it would be the last timber I'd choose for a guitar or a violin. Mahogany (tun) also. In the West we use such woods as spruce or cedar, or here in Tasmania, King William pine. These timbers are close grained, straight grained and quarter cut, joined on the middle for a violin belly. For the back and sides maple, or whatever, either with a two piece join on the back or like my present favourite fiddle, one piece and not quarter cut. Certainly not a giant bean! lol

So, why these choices in Indian made sitars and how does it affect the tone, volume and sustain etc. Do they do tap tests to determine how the belly will perform? (like fiddle makers do). There's no bracing, as in guitars, or indeed most other plucked instruments like a lute, an oud or a bazouki.

Sitars are just weird! But, bloody hell, they sound nice!

What happens when western timbers and technique are used to make a sitar belly and back (such as a multi strip back as on a lute or oud). Do they then sound awful with a braced spruce tabli?

The bridge is weird too and I don't mean the jawari. Any thoughts people, or experience with other makers? Sitarfixer especially.
Fil

Reply with quote  #2 
Meh, it was just rambling at evening's end while putting up with too much heat for a Southern Autumn.