INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
mat_ridenour

Reply with quote  #1 
I'm looking for a book that gives detailed and thorough information, study material, alankars, lessons, techniques, etc. etc. about Sitar. While I've loved ICM for years I'm somewhat new to learning it. So I'm looking for a book (or books) that can clarify basics and work up to more advance stuff. I saw "The Classical Music of North India" by Gearge Ruckert on the Ali Akbar Khan College site. It looks promising. I also check out Powell's Book (arguably the largest independent bookstore in the world) and they only had ONE book on Sitar, which was "My Music My Life" by Shankar. But I'm sure there are others out there. Basically, my plan is to get a book and learn everything in it, make it my Practice Bible. And of course lessons when I can afford them.
Thanks,
Mat
randyh

Reply with quote  #2 
I'm sure you will get many good suggestions about books here. My suggestion is the videos from Rain City Music - There are multiple ragas available with detailed lessons that would be months or more of lessons from a teacher. They are really amazing with great explanations and I go back to them often still after two years. My opinion is that they are by far the best learning materials for sitar besides a live teacher. Here is the link:

http://www.raincitymusic.com/sitar-dvd.htm
nicneufeld

Reply with quote  #3 
For learning the practical side of playing a raag on sitar (in the absence of a teacher), Randy's suggestion is good, I have one of Indrajit's Yaman DVDs that was quite helpful.