INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Dspeck

Reply with quote  #1 
I recently got a no name sitar, which is good enough for a start, it can do everything that is needed, has a reasonable sound, resonance, stays in tune for a while, etc. Well, I am not an expert yet, but my teacher said that it is good enough and the price (320 Euros) reasonable.

Generally speaking, I can't afford a better instrument for at least one year and I want to get the best out of this one in the meantime. I am relatively good in fixing stuff, so my hands won't be in the way.

I do know how to change strings, I even had to tie a fret, so this isn't of any concern. But there are two things I need to take care of:

- A couple of the taraf tuning pegs are almost stuck in the neck, it requires a lot of force to turn them, and even more care not to turn them too far and break the string, when they finally move. I learned that chalk gives pegs a better grip, so this is not an option here. How about carefully sanding them where they touch the wood of the neck?

The main gourd has a long crack along the leaves on the top (where the arm rests). Is it enough to fill it up with shellack? I am asking because this is what several people recommend on the internet. The crack doesn't open, very thin and perhaps not even reaching into the inside. The gourd sounds good when knocked, even near the crack, there is no "crackish" sound when playing (I know that sound from other instruments). Of course, eventually, I will give the sitar to a professional repairman, especially, if the crack starts to grow or get wider.

And one thing I want to take care of:

The wood and celluloid is a bit dull, I would like to refresh it soon (before replacing the stone-age tarafs with new ones). Can I safely assume that wood and gourds are varnished with shellack? What Is a good agent to clean and shine it then? And how about the celluloid decoration?
cwroyds

Reply with quote  #2