INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
drozzy

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello from Australia!

Just a quick question. I'm primarily a percussionist who is looking to purchase some world/ethnic instruments to add to some recordings, and have stumbled across a small sitar on australian ebay, and even mroe convenient is the fact that the seller lives a stones throw away.

My question, you sitar(ists?) with more experience then I, could you have a look over this and see if it is worth the expense of 200 australian dollars? I have little knowledge on the matter, and would be very appreciative of any response.

Here is the link:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Student-Sitar-Quarter-Size-Hand-Crafted_W0QQitemZ200182603344QQihZ010QQcategoryZ123348QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I don't want to sink money into something that will eventuate into an unusable novelty.

All help is much appreciated!

Cheers,

Tom
daz199

Reply with quote  #2 
that's a toy...not an instrument

i don't know how australian dollars compare, but you can get an ok sitar for a very cheap price on ebay....but you get what you pay for, so depends on how interested you are

and a real sitar is a lot bigger, and has more frets..

it's like buying this if you wanted a guitar
http://www.craxor.com/foftar/Guitar-big.jpg

if you get one, make sure it looks something like this

http://www.magictails.com/abydos/images/mid-east/stringed/large/sitar_fancy_RKS.jpg[/img]
drozzy

Reply with quote  #3 
I understood that it was a smaller scale sitar, but knew that something was off about the whole thing.

I might as well divert these funds over to some more percussive equipment, and possibly the purchase of an Oud.

The exchange rate would sit 200 australian dollars at around 170/180 US dollars.
daz199

Reply with quote  #4 
yep, definately a rip off for that price..
sitars are very cool, if you want to spend a bit more try it out
or else get a hang drum! those things look like a lot of fun
drozzy

Reply with quote  #5