INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
dhrupadstudent

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello all,

I am a student of Dagarvani. I have been learning vocal for a few years, but I am also strongly drawn toward the rudra veena and would like to learn it too.

For that purpose, I am interested in getting a Kanai Lal Dagarvani-style veena. Would anyone be able to point me to someone who might be willing to part with one? My understanding is that there may be several in France or Germany, possibly more than in the US or in India?

Also, I presume new rudra veenas are still being made, possibly in Miraj? Could anyone comment on their quality as compared to the Kanai Lals?

Thanks.
mike hooker

Reply with quote  #2 
i have one, made in miraj. i got it from tony karasek, he brought it from india when he moved back from the states. its a very good instrument. it took quite a bit of time to get it where i want it, its very hard to get the instrument you want without being in constant physical contact with the maker. emails arent quite enough. you could contact tony K, but i dont know if he has another or would have one made after not being in india anymore.

i think lars at rain city music can help you. when i was searching for mine, i came very close to having one built thru lars. he has a good relationship with RA sitarmaker, the makers of my veena. he'll do his very best to make sure its built as close as possible to your needs, take care of the shipping( very important), and go over it when it arrives.