INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
kleoirh

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello,

I'm new a member to this forum, which I usually check since a few months. I recently read a topic (http://forums.chandrakantha.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3872) where some of you are identifying the tablaist playing on a record.
I have been practising for (only) two years now, and I am ashamed of admitting that I am absolutely not able to recognize the style of a tabla player, even of the player who are told to be easily recognizable (like Zakirji or Anindoda). Furthermore I don't know well the differences between gharanas, which could (or not ?) help me in this task.
So what indication helps you to identify a tabla player ? And where could I find information about the style of gharanas ?

Thank you very much (and please excuse my approximate english !)
rapture

Reply with quote  #2 
this is a silly thing to worry about at this point in your tabla journey. i would just say.....listen to as many recordings of the great players as you can. while you're listening, try to understand what they are playing. you will need to grow more as a tabla player yourself before you start picking up on more subtle aspects of other people's playing.

-r
kleoirh

Reply with quote  #3 
Thank you for replying me rapture,
Actually I was more wondering about my abilities than worrying. When I read the topic I mentioned, I was just wondering if it was common to recognize the style of these masters, or if I was an exception and really had to be disturbed !
I follow your advice and try to listen, listen, listen as much as I can... Most of the time I don't understand what is being played - which of course doesn't remove beauty of the tune- but when I can catch it ... it's wonderful !
tablafreak

Reply with quote  #4 
kleoirh,