INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
peppardj3@gmail.com

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello! :)

I'm very new to Sitar & I've been trying to find Ravi Shankar's Sitar Tuning and can only seem to find the chart that shows you the tuning of the playing strings and not the sympathetic strings, so I was wondering does anybody have a chart that shows you his tuning of the sympathetic strings in western terms (C# - F#) etc etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! :)
RagaMeister19

Reply with quote  #2 
This is how I tune in C# Ravi Shankar Style. There are others but this is a standard tuning that I got form this web site. The #1 main string is the top peg closest to the nut. I will attach a chart that can also show how this is tuned. The #1 tarab string is closest to the headstock and works their way down towards the neck joint. I hope you can get a teacher as this is a difficult instrument to learn and technique is very important to playing ragas. Good luck. [thumb]

My Sitar Tuning

Ravi Shankar StyleString Gauges

Key of C#

1st  String - Ma - F#.012 - Steel

2nd String - Sa - C#.016 - Bronze

3rd  String - Ga - G#.022 - Bronze

4th  String - Sa - C# .028 - Bronze

Chikari - Pa - G#.009 - Steel

Chikari - Sa - C#.009 - Steel

Chikari - sa - c#.009 - Steel

Tarab Strings - .009 - Steel

1   Sa   c#

2   Ni    c

3   Sa   c#

4   Re   d#

5   Ga   f

6   Ga   f

7   Ma   f#

8   Pa    g#

9   Pa    g#

10 Dha  a#

11 Ni    c

12 Sa   c#

13 Sa   c#

Attached Images
png Screen Shot 2020-04-14 at 7.19.33 AM.png (545.88 KB, 12 views)

peppardj3@gmail.com

Reply with quote  #3 
Thank you so much! this is very helpful.

Can you suggest any phone apps to aid with the tuning ?
katyrow

Reply with quote  #4 
Quote:
Originally Posted by peppardj3@gmail.com

Can you suggest any phone apps to aid with the tuning ?