INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
devdutt3vedi

Reply with quote  #1 
I am sure most of you would agree that there are very few Ravi Shankar alaaps of significant length that we can listen to. I do not learn sitar, but am very interested in it. I am a film student and would like to emulate the logic of jod taans in Ravi Shankar style in films. This is largely because I am very interested in the temporal or time based cinema school of director Robert Bresson. I find Ravi Shankar's approach to music the equivalent of Bresson in cinema.
Further on my grand uncles who have heard both UVK and PRS several times seem to think that PRS's alaap is far superior. Now I am quite sure that some of us would disagree with this. But that is precisely why I think his alaap the most significant portion in his playing needs to be studied.
There are only significant recordings that i can think of
1) Darbari 56 (esnips)
2) Darbari London 30 (esnips)
3) Bhimpalasi 27
4) Jaijaivanti 35 (esnips)
5) Malkauns 20
6) Tilak Shyam 28 (esnips)
The other alaaps which have been recorded usually do not show the kharaj string.
However i think that with more access to his alaaps i can further understand this unique style of approach to ragas. I have written a very theoretical piece on his style titled (perhaps incorrectly) 'Dhrupad ang in Ravi Shankar' as well as an interview, a rather short one with Kumar Shahni, on RaviShankar. Kumar Shahani is a film maker who is a student of Robert Bresson.I can post the same if significant.
For now Ravi Shankar alaaps???? Anyone....
devdutt3vedi

Reply with quote  #2 
Quoting from the book The Life of Music in North India: Organization of Artistic Tradition page 225:
'Pt Ravi Shankar and Sri Nikhil Banerjee play Raga Shyam kalyan in successive performances'
Any possibility of getting a recording of the same.
povster

Reply with quote  #3 
Some not as long as you listed but here are some alaps with the kharaj/pancham strings that go into gats later.