INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
TablaBeatz

Reply with quote  #1 

Saw this on the facebook tabla group - thought some of you would be interested ! Looks like a great performance - !

"The beginning of life is rhythm. When you’re in the womb your mother’s heart is beating at (about 90) decibels ... we were born of vibration 13.7 billion years ago with the explosion of the universe."
pbercker

Reply with quote  #2 
One of my favorite Sarangi players (not that I listen to many, the late Sultan Khan and Ramesh Mishra being the only 2 that come to mind). The first I heard of him was late 90s, and I was somewhat undecided about whether or not I liked the sarangi until I heard Ram Narayan play it. His was the most soulful I had ever heard.

Among my Indian friends (and fellow ICM lovers) when I was a graduate student in Boulder, Colorado, a charming story circulated amongst some of them to the effect that Pandit Ram Narayan always carried with him a miniature sarangi that he would practice wherever he went when a full size sarangi was not practical, and would practice even in bed whilst falling asleep! I was then given to believe that this miniature instrument could fit in the palm of one's hand! I thought that level of dedication to riyaz absolutely charming and indeed awe inspiring, except of course that it does *not* seem to be true! The facts (as revealed by the all seeing wiki!) is that he came to be fascinated by a small sarangi when he was 6 years old and first learned fingering techniques on that small (but not necessarily palm-sized miniature!) instrument.

Btw, the wiki entry for Pt. Ram Narayan is well worth reading. If you don't get around to reading this lengthy article, here are 3 interesting bits from it:

1. His older brother is the famed tabla player Chatur Lal
2. His first solo performance in 1954 in India was a disaster as an impatient audience hungry for the more famous musicians practically ushered him off the stage!