INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
nicneufeld

Reply with quote  #1 
Greetings, first off! This being my first post, a small bit of introduction may be in order...I'm a guitarist and bassist who has for the past 10 years had a very strong attraction to Indian classical music, first drawn in like probably so many by Pt. Ravi Shankar. Only recently have I finally "gotten serious" about it and started to invest time in learning the fundamentals (this site is a great reference along these lines!), and I attended a workshop given by Sandip Burman, a great tabla and sitar player who is a great teacher as well. At this point, I'm hooked, and shortly planning to get a sitar so my funky-tuned acoustic guitar can be retired, or at least returned to a more western tuning!

But on to my specific question...probably my favorite album of ICM (even if it is a bit on the non-traditional side) is West Meets East with Shankar and Yehudi Menuhin. Raga Piloo from that is a song I've never been able to shake out of my head. But I was listening to Raga Ananda Bhairava from that album, and I'm quite confused!

First of all, there are two thaats similarly named (Bhairav and Bhairavi) and then there is a Carnatic raga (Anandabhairavi) that is similar. The Carnatic raga seems to correspond to the Asavari thaat (being a false cognate to the Bhairav or Bhairavi thaats).

But when I'm listening to this recording, it sounds almost completely like it is in the bilawal thaat! The tanpura is tuned G P S' S, it appears. And all of the notes really appear "shuddha". Asavari and Bhairavi don't seem to fit because the flattened Ga doesn't really appear at all, leaving Bhairav, which has a flattened Dha, but the shuddha Dha seems actually quite emphasised in Shankar's version. The one difference is an occasional straying to a kemal Re. So is there a thaat for SrGmPDNS'?