INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Evan Grubbs

Reply with quote  #1 
Alright:

I am an aspiring experimental luthier. So far, I've built two electric violins, the shittiest balalaika in history, and I'm currently building a tamboura.

My tamboura is make from a gourd I had sitting around (a basket gourd sawn in half from a banjo my dad tried to make years ago), a piece of pine for the neck, and a piece of plywood for the top on the gourd. The neck isn't hallowed out, and I don't know what that's going to do for the sound, but I'll post clips when I do to compare to people who legitimately know what one sounds like.

Anyway, I'm looking to build a sitar out of obviously horrible parts, but I'd just like to do it for my own fun. I'd like to know the measurments of a 3/4 sized sitar or possibly something smaller. In the abscence of that, the measurements to a standard sitar would do just as well.

I have a few questions as well about the real functionality of some pieces:

Does the neck really have to be hollowed out, or is that just for the tuning pegs to hold the sympathetic strings in?

If the neck is hallowed out, does there really need to be a plate on the neck? Would it work just as well if the sympathetic strings had their own little raised nuts to get them to the same level on the little bridge?

The sitar I plan to build will have six playing strings and 11 sympathetic ones -- On all the sitars I see like that, there are only 5 strings on the head, while a few larger tuning pegged strings are on the neck -- why is this? Is it just because the tension would be too much and the neck would crack?

And one last thing -- I don't really have access to an lot of teak -- what other woods could sitar be made from?
trippy monkey

Reply with quote  #2 
Interesting little project.

I can already hear/see some forumites throwing their hands in the air or running off screaming
I, for one, would loooove to hear the outcome or even just SEE it. 8)