INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Annakai

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello everyone, I hope all is well
my much beloved teacher is handing me over to one of the local sitarists here in Austin whom he accompanies so that I can begin my training to perform with her. In turn, I have been asked to play theka to keep laya in her classes at the Univ here in town.
i am new to accompanying both instrumentalists and vocalists with tabla and I am not afraid to say that ... well, i am skeered. but that aside, i was wondering if any of you can share with me some pretty basic prakar of teentaal. (i would love anything for any taal, but what i need most is teentaal.) i need to begin asap, but my teacher is currently unavailable to help me. that said, i will really appreciate anything anyone is willing to share with me.
aum shanti.

Reply with quote  #2 
this is a beautiful prakar :

+ Dha --- /Dhin--trKe/Dhin-Dhin/Dha - Ge-/
2 Dha --- /Dhin--trKe/Dhin-Dhin/Dha - Ge-/
0 Ta- ta tata/ tin -- trKe/tin - tin-/Ta - ke -/
3 Dha ge tr kt//Dhin--trKe/Dhin-Dhin/Dha tr kt/

+ Dha

The last matra of vibag 3 can vary it by

Dha Te te or Dha tr kt tk
Jamie

Reply with quote  #3 
Very nice. I would be tempted to substitute those 'ges' with 'tis', ti being 'tet' with the 2nd finger.

Jamie
Quote:
Originally Posted by "claudio"
this is a beautiful prakar :

+ Dha --- /Dhin--trKe/Dhin-Dhin/Dha - Ge-/
2 Dha --- /Dhin--trKe/Dhin-Dhin/Dha - Ge-/
0 Ta- ta tata/ tin -- trKe/tin - tin-/Ta - ke -/
3 Dha ge tr kt//Dhin--trKe/Dhin-Dhin/Dha tr kt/

+ Dha

The last matra of vibag 3 can vary it by

Dha Te te or Dha tr kt tk

scodoha

Reply with quote  #4 
Didn't he say "pretty basic prakar of teentaal" ? ? ?

Dha- Dhin- DhinGe DhaGe
DhaGe DhinGe Dhin- Dha-
Dha- tin- tinKe taKe
taKe DhinGe Dhin- Dha-

DhaGe Dhin- DhinGe DhaGe
Dha-Dhin- DhinGe DhaGe
DhaKe tin- tinKe taKe
ta- Dhin- DhinGe DhaGe
Annakai

Reply with quote  #5 
Great you guys, thanks!