INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
forum_user

Reply with quote  #1 
I am a relative beginner (been learning tabla for about 4 years), and would like to start practicing simple accompaniment at home.
My problem is that I am used to practicing with a lehera and I find it hard to play without the cues that the lehera provides.
Practicing with songs (which already have rhythmic support as tabla or anything else) poses the same problem.
Ideally, I would have a vocal singer at my beck and call, who would sit next to me, and sing while I learn to accompany him/her.

In the absence of somebody like this, what are my options?
Is there software that will help me with this?
TablaBeatz

Reply with quote  #2 
Try find some songs on cd or something - and play along to that!
"The beginning of life is rhythm. When you’re in the womb your mother’s heart is beating at (about 90) decibels ... we were born of vibration 13.7 billion years ago with the explosion of the universe."
forum_user

Reply with quote  #3 
I've been practicing with songs (which already have tabla in them). I find that the already-present tabla helps my tabla stay in rhythm.
I've tried accompanying hindustani vocal students once in a while - and it's a whole different ballgame - because there is no "other tabla" to guide me. I sometimes get a little lost, and have to be guided back to the sam with indication from the vocal teacher.
If there's songs available with tabla on one side and the singer on the other, and I can control the stereo so that the tabla can be cut off, that would be great.
Does anybody know of any such songs?
Thanks!
evening84

Reply with quote  #4