INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Register Calendar Latest Topics Chat

Author   Comment  
talamala

Reply with quote  #1 

Hello IMForums,

On David's kind request, I'd like to post a short intro to myself and invite any other new or commonly lurking members of the forums to do the same.

My name is Josh, and I'm a relatively fresh tabla student. Got my first practice set and intro lessons about four years ago, and have been watching my obsession for tal and love for Indian Classical Music grow steadily since. As a lifelong musician (mostly guitar and mandolin—western classical and American/Canadian folk; have also dabbled in Latin and African percussion), I've found myself connecting with Indian classical in a way that other forms never seemed to allow.

I live in Vancouver, BC, have had a few teachers here in town, and also a few while living down in the Bay Area for work. If any fellow tabla students happen to be in the Vancouver area, do get in touch—I am trying to start a regular Group Riyaz sit drilling small phrases from the "dha-tiri kitataka takatiri kitataka dheredehere..." rela. (Thanks to Shawn Mativetsky for inspiring me to try to get this group going, his Tabla Workshop in Montreal last month was fantastic, and I highly recommend it to any students in North America). If any other instrumentalists see this, please don't be shy to reach out as well: always keen to grow my circle of ICM enthusiast friends.

I am incredibly fortunate to have a beautiful wife who is a classically trained vocalist. About a year ago, she began studying sitar, and we are really enjoying regular riyaz together. Hoping to have a common repertoire large enough to perform together within the next couple of years, but certainly have a long way to go until that day comes. Here's where we were at circa about 3 months ago, critique/comments most welcome: