INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Roland

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello, I'm new to this... ( Sitar Forum and computers )
I've been following the Forum for a couple of weeks and would like to jump aboard. I hope you don't mind but I'd like to ask a question.
On the tabli are two (white inlayed ) birds on either side of the playing strings and sympathetics (on most sitars )
Does anybody know the significance of these traditional
motifs/icons ? They don't look like peacocks ( national bird of India )
Do sitar builders have a name for these birds ? I see them all the time ,
but have never read one word on there meaning.
Just curious , Thanks for the time and space.
AbdulLatif

Reply with quote  #2 
Well you just take all the time and space you need both will lead you back to wherever it was ya started.

I actually have thought about this deep issue cuz my mind works that way. I believe the tabli birds may represent a species of Indian Cuckoo, maybe a Pied Crested Jacobin http://nagpurbirds.org/displayimage.php?album=lastup&cat=12&pos=2 there are about 15 sp. of cuckoo in India in the bird family alone :wink: . The reason I arrived at this is because Indian music treatises assign the 5th Pa to the sound of a cuckoo. On the other hand the swan everybody has on the Ma string isn't on a list I've seen so..... the peacock seen on some veens is supposed to relate to the goddess Saraswati making the mudra rejecting vanity and illusion when she is pictured playing the veena. As to the Dragons...what note do they sound?? Probably any note they want. and the reality is that hardly any if any at all of the instrument makers have a clue or even care. Its just done that way.