INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment   Page 2 of 2      Prev   1   2
fossesitar

Reply with quote  #16 
Private Label !! Bourbon or Scotch ?? Anyway, marvelous way to bring this thread to a well-deserved conclusion !! To whatever extent your definition applies to me, aplogies to all and sundry. One never sees ones own shortcomings does one? VA-VA-VOOM !!
povster

Reply with quote  #17 
Quote:
Originally Posted by "yehuda1983"
Hello everyone
I am fairly new to playing Sitar.
my main problem is my left Index finger.
i cannot play for a long time because it hurts and i get cuts also.

Is there a solution for that? other than keep playing until it goes numb.

Thank you very much
Hi yehuda! As often happens on message boards things took a few turns. But getting back on track.

It will take time to develop the callouses to a point they are tough enough to allow more extended practice sessions. I would suggest practicing until it starts to hurt but NOT cut. Take a break for a little bit. My teacher showed me a neat trick when I was starting. He lit a match, let it burn down some, then blew it out. He then put the two fingers over the burnt out match to let the heat penetrate. That would give me a little extra playing time before the pain set in again.

Also you can briskly rub your fingertips across a rug, generating heat from the friction.

These are just stopgaps to get in a few more minutes.

It is better, in my opinion, to reduce the length of your practice sessions in the beginning. Better to have four 15 minute sessions or six 10 minute sessions, for example, than a single hour session. Over time, as the callous really starts to develop, you will be able to increase the duration of each session.

If you HAVE slit the finger, by all means use a bandaid to cover it. It won't help your callous development but you can still get in good practice while the cut heals.