INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
michael_lifshitz

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello all. I apologize in advance for how redundant this type of thread must be for you all.

I am a guitar player, though not a very good one. I have been playing for about 5 years on and off, more on in the past 6 months or so, and have started to record a little bit of music just for fun for myself. I plan on getting a nice mic to record and such in the near future.

Either way, I have been listening to a lot of Shankar lately, who I discovered through the Beatles (how typical haha), and really enjoy it. I was thinking that I would love to play the sitar, especially considering my friend has a set of tabla drums and it would be much fun to play together. I also would want to experiment with the sitar in my recordings, though I am aware it can be a challenge to make it fit with western music.

I know nothing about indian music composition and ragas and such, and am wondering if there is anywhere I can learn? Would becoming an active member of this community teach me slowly? Where would I begin? I wouldn't know at all how to start.

Next, and most importantly, is where to get a sitar, and which to buy. Firstly, I really don't need this to sound amazing, as I doubt I will even be able to tell the difference. I would much rather spend less money. I only have about 350 to spend, so I might have to end up going with something from ebay. I listened to the sound recordings and they didn't sound bad at all to me. I am sure I can just barely tell the difference. Is it really that important to get a really high quality instrument? And are those on ebay that bad? This the one I was looking at:

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-LIGHT-WOOD-SITAR-W-FREE-SHIPPING-INDIA-BEATLES_W0QQitemZ7394730946QQcategoryZ623QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem