INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
chris thill

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi !

I've been reading this forum for quite a few weeks actually, but before I start posting and asking questions, I thought it would be nice to come and say hello, or namaste, and introduce myself a little bit.

My name is Christophe Thill, I live in Paris (France), and I'm a beginner on the sitar. I've had mine for less than a month, but it already feels very addictive, I can hardly take my hands off it!

The decision to really "get into it" came after I saw a concert of Indrajit Banerjee who had come to Paris for Music's Day, last June. But I'm actually not so much of an ICM person. I love to listen to it, and I'm now convinced that, in order to appreciate it better, I need to learn more about it, understand raga better, etc. (the forum is very helpful); but I definitely see myself as more of a rock musician. The artists I wish to emulate are Brian Jones, George Harrison and other people from the 60s, rather than Ravi Shankar, Vilayat Khan and other masters. Which doesn't mean that I don't love and respect those; quite the contrary. They're just sitting much too high; and I think you've got to know your own limits.

I have to say thank you to the people posting here (some of them obviously experts) as I've already read lots of things that help me learn, understand and practice.

And now let me retire after a slight respectful bow...
jaan e kharabat

Reply with quote  #2