INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment   Page 2 of 2      Prev   1   2
Tristan von Neumann

Reply with quote  #16 
@CarbonSitars

This proves the more your mean-spirited attitude.

btw: I studied musicology. And you should know that many late 16th century music defies classification in major/minor or modal analysis.

So, please go do something useful for yourself and stop this tiresome non-discussion.
Tristan von Neumann

Reply with quote  #17 
Here's two new tracks.

Especially the Gabrieli Canzon is showing the similarity.

westsea

Reply with quote  #18 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonSitars
I'll be honest here. I think this is a case of apophenia.

I'll be honest here, I think this is a case of trolling.

Tristan von Neumann

Reply with quote  #19 
Thank you for your support, Westsea.

It is puzzling to me how one cannot hear this, and even if they don't trust their ears, they can at least check the score and disprove my claim. Oh well, they can't...

Anyway, why is it so hard to believe that there was exchange of music, maybe below any historical radar. Those guys had 100 years to check out Indian music to finally come up with this stuff...
Tristan von Neumann

Reply with quote  #20 
btw here's another nice one with Chhayanat. :)

Tristan von Neumann

Reply with quote  #21 
And here are more Instrumental Canzonas set to their ragas:

Not sure about this one, but the rhythms are pretty good:
Tristan von Neumann

Reply with quote  #22 
To all skeptics especially, but also those who are neutral:

I consider this proof of the relationship between 16th century music of Europe and India.

I hope now it is clear how polyphonic Raga works.
There is actual evidence of this style in European treatises, it's just not called Indian. (Because, you guessed it, people didn't give credit...)

AllenDS

Reply with quote  #23 
Hi Tristan,