INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment   Page 2 of 2      Prev   1   2
AllenDS

Reply with quote  #16 
Quote:
Originally Posted by westsea

Why?
The instrument should decide.  My bamboo rudra veena is tuned to Sa = D#

westsea, thanks for asking why I'm choosing G#. Since I'm new to the rudra veena, I'm always looking for good advice. I personally wouldn't know what pitch this short scale instrument wants, so to get started, I'm relying on information I find online. I notice that Jyoti Hedge plays an instrument similar to the size of mine and she can be heard playing in the key of Sa = B (approx.). Zahid Khan Faridi Desai's been is similar to mine also, and I've seen a video of him playing Sa = G. Yet another artist with a similar instrument is Sharada Mushti who has the very appealing peaceful tonal quality I hope to achieve tuned to the key of G# which can be heard in this video:

So my simplistic and uninformed logic has been that perhaps it might be safest to stay within the range of F# to B, and to do that on this small instrument, I'd need a heavier main string such as 0.02" and a rather heavy kharaj of 0.051".

Oh, and my initial plans are influenced by a casual piece of advice I got from Scott Hackleman to consider heavier strings for this rudra veena since it's short (he hasn't seen it, so his advice is only a general guideline).

I'm still in the planning stage, so I'm glad to hear from you!

Thanks,
Allen

Reply with quote  #17 
I defer to Scott Hackleman, who is the expert.
But, a 0.051" kharaj sounds really heavy, for a bamboo instrument.
That's a Dagar style gauge.
I have a Karuna Tanpura Double Winding # 18 on my bamboo been kharaj.
Did you hear that?  musicslug just mentally groaned. 
Using a wound string is not without controversy!  ;-)
BTW, my bamboo been string length is 36".
AllenDS

Reply with quote  #18 
Quote:
Originally Posted by westsea
.... BTW, my bamboo been string length is 36".