INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment   Page 2 of 2      Prev   1   2
Anonymous

Reply with quote  #16 
Just a shot of reality for this forum of fakers.
Anonymous

Reply with quote  #17 
Hello,

I must start by publicly saying i wish Neal hadn't posted that information about me. I had not planned on making the information public yet because my plans are not yet set, and I regret that it was not up to me when to release the information.

Now to you're comments worldmusiclove:

I understand you're apprehension. First let me say, I have NEVER asked ANYONE to refer to me using 'ji' or 'da' or guru, etc. Neal did so of his own accord. Second, I have no plans now, nor have every had any plans to open an Indian music school in Boston. Again, this is Neal talking and does not reflect any of my philosophies or ambitions.

Next we come to the teaching and learning- I admit that I am fairly new to the path of Hindustani music (although I started studying piano at age 4, and bass at age 8, giving me almost 2 decades of musical experience. Although its not Hindustani experience, I do believe it counts for something) Before I started teaching, I asked my teacher in Boston, Peter Row- well respected musician, ethnomusicologist and disciple of Pandit Gokul Nag, if I could accept beginning students since I had a few inquires. Mr. Row said yes, and I took a few beginners. Now the material we study is extremely rudimentary, basic, basic technique, compositions, chalan, and a few tans. In fact, I have a student who I felt was getting quite good, and I recommended to Mr. Row that he continue his studies with him. Mr. Row said he should continue with me. Mr. Row has referred me students as well, as has Mr. George Ruckert- a well known and very well respected disciple of Ustad Ali Akbar Khan. The concerts I have played have been with the blessing of Mr. Row, and if you'll notice, I haven't accepted many.