INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
cobra

Reply with quote  #1 
Greetings,

I'm trying to figure out how to apply the "Karanai" or "Soru" on a mridangam head.  I've researched and asked everyone I can think of, but can only get very vague descriptions of the ingredients and process.

Does anyone have any idea where I can get details on this?

Thank you for any help you can offer.
khitchdee

Reply with quote  #2 
You could try atta or wheat flour.
They use that on the pakhawaj which is very similar.
I would use as little water as possible to make the paste
so it hardens nicely,
and I would apply it in layers to get better control over the formation of the paste.
In a tabla, for example, the formation is high at the center and tapers off towards the circumference.
The tabla's shyahi is typically applied in concentric circles
starting at the center and spiralling outwards.
drtom

Reply with quote  #3 
That's an interesting suggestion khitchdee.

I am by no means an expert on the pakawaj, but I believe atta is used on the bass side of a pakhawaj much as the temporary paste used on the bass side of a mridangam.  I do not think atta would produce the tonal qualities of the paste normally applied to the treble side.  I also think it would crumble soon after drying.

I have experimented with some success with a paste that contains clay and iron oxide (would have used iron ore but only had iron oxide at the time).  Your suggestion to apply the paste in layers is correct, though not for the purpose of controlling the form.  The form results naturally from the application.  Each layer should be applied and allowed to dry and develop it's discreet fragments before the next layer is applied.  This will allow all the fragments of each layer to vibrate in independent harmony.

This may not be what you were hoping for cobra, but it might help.

khitchdee

Reply with quote  #4 
Hello @drtom