INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Arfan1987

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi everyone,

This is my first post so go easy on me! I'm just starting out on the path of building my own rudra veena, as anyone else here who as done the same probably knows, there's a dearth of straightforward, easily locatable knowledge on the subject (at least on the net). Therefore I was wondering if the people here who have their own beens could get out their measuring tapes and help me with some dimensions as well as some more technical issues.

First off I just wanted to check how tall and thick the frets are on a rudra veena? I understand that they are generally 3.25 inches long but I can't find any info on height or thickness. Also I take it the bridge would have to be built to this exact same height in order not to negatively effect sound/intonation?

This sort of leads me onto the next question. I've been really struggling with the question of how one would set the intonation on an instrument like the rudra veena which has a non-adjustable bridge? That is because the bridge is built into the soundchamber which cannot be moved once set, how does one sort out any intonation problems. For example I recently found the intonation on my sitar was off (by plucking a harmonic which matched the open string, then fretting at the same point as the harmonic and checking to see if the notes were the same). Therefore I loosened my strings and moved my bridge back a bit and this sorted it, but it doesn't seem possible to do this on a been so what do you do? Moreover when building the instrument is there an established ratio or length between the last fret and the bridge which would sort this problem?

Lastly (for now at least!) I wanted to ask about the placement of the bridge with regards to the soundchamber. Does the bridge simply nestle into a whole at the top of the soundchamber or does it sit on legs like a sitar onto a platform in the soundchamber?