INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment   Page 2 of 2      Prev   1   2
Marc

Reply with quote  #16 
Nice recordings e-f
pfintucson

Reply with quote  #17 
Just have to chime in since, 10 years ago, I studied in Pasadena with Shujat Khan for a week (yes- it was a blessing...pricey, but worth it...) He taught me Jhinjoti. He has a very nice recording of it that includes him singing and playing. When I told him I loved that recording he said, "then let's work on Jhinjoti". So I sat around in my Indian duds, wanting to impress and he wore shorts and a Lakers T-shirt !!! Learned my lesson! Great Raga. Did NB ever do a recording if that one??? Can't say I've ever heard one.
nicneufeld

Reply with quote  #18 
Been listening a few times to the Abdul Karim Khan recording...beautiful, and a shame it could not have been captured on more transparent equipment. Still, I suppose the old lofi recordings do have some romance about them. From the somewhat imposing portrait of him, one does not expect that high voice!

One question that strikes me...there is a definite shuddh Ni component he introduces in that recording. Does not seem to be a "mistake" that is quickly corrected, but it is repeated and emphasized in a nicely musical way. Can anyone comment on the role of shuddh Ni in Jhinjhoti?

Since posting this thread I feel like I have started to really get a sense of jhinjhoti. Sometimes it takes a few months for a raag to really start to sink in. Tomorrow hopefully will be my first lesson in about a month now, since my teacher will have returned from Kolkata. Looking forward to delving into Jhinjhoti with him again!
pfintucson

Reply with quote  #19 
Yes! Shujat's interpretation also would often land somewhere between shudh ni and komal ni in slow passages, alap... but pretty straight komal ni in fast gats/taans..
expiring_frog

Reply with quote  #20 
Quote:
Originally Posted by "pfintucson"
He has a very nice recording of it that includes him singing and playing.