INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Anonymous

Reply with quote  #1 
Greetings,
I'm new to the forums (sad to see all the old posts go) and I wanted to introduce myself. The info on forum members is sketchy, so I'm also encouraging other forum members to post a little about themselves. I'm curious, I guess....

I'm a professional tabla player based in Toronto, Canada. I initially studied with Ritesh Das here in Toronto, and have also studied with Swapan Chaudhuri at the Ali Akbar College, as well as in a number of workshops.
I am currently studying with Anindo Chatterjee, as well as with Subhajyoti Guha when he's in Toronto, and with mrdangam master Trichy Sankaran -translating mrdangam repertoire onto tabla. I did a similar project with Karaikudi Mani in Chennai, and I've also studied a little bit of nattuvangam.

I regularly perform with 'autorickshaw', an ensemble I co-direct with Sankaran's daughter, Suba.

The repertoire is a mix of north and south Indian classical compositions, jazz repertoire and original 'Indo-jazz' material. The instrumentation is voice, bass, tabla, percussion and sometimes piano.

Our second CD was nominated for a world music JUNO award in Canada last year, and we tour and perform regularly, most recently in NYC and Washington DC.

You can sample a tabla solo here:
http://cdbaby.com/mp3lofi/autorickshaw-08.m3u
The rest of the album is here (w solos on Saraswati and Chennai Five-0)
http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/autorickshaw
and our website is here:
http://www.autorickshaw.ca

Thanks for reading, and hope to meet you all in the forums!
Ed
Shawn

Reply with quote  #2 
Hi Ed,

Welcome Remember me? Congrats on the Juno nomination, that's really great!