INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
assingh

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello Friends,

I was reading these interviews and thought of sharing them here.

Pt. Kumar Bose:

How did the training change after the age of twelve?

Well, it was always strict. When I played wrongly my father sometimes beat me up. Once I was supposed to play a tabla solo at our school function. My mother encouraged me very much. So, I started practicing in front of my father. When I played wrong Bol-Bani, he became furious and beat me up with his belt. He wrote down the correct kaydas, paltas, relas and tukdas line by line and gave me a tight schedule for practice up to 6 o’clock. He even tied my leg with a chain to the window and told me to keep practicing in front of the tabla until the concert.

http://www.tablapassion.com/interview.html
pbercker

Reply with quote  #2 
Interesting interviews. my favorite might well be Shankar Ghosh ...

We've all heard about the rigorous demands of practice ....
Quote:
Even now, practice is important. There is a concept of Chilla. It means you go to the temple, mosque or gurudwara and you promise that you will practice for so many hours a day. It is thought that if you break your promise you will not achieve the artistic standards that you aspire towards. I vowed to do 14 hours practice everyday in two shifts of seven hours each, for 3 months in a row. And I did this on three occasions. These intense periods of practice were done every two or three years.

But the added note of candor is nice ...
Quote:
During those 7 hours, I might not have played continuously but I was not allowed to walk away from my tabla.
Moreover there's a bit of good news on how many hours of practice are "really" required ...
Quote:
Now, I don’t believe that this many hours of physical practice is needed. Physical practice is not really needed for more than four hours and that maybe in two sessions.
Well, that's the silver lining, but here comes the cloud ...
Quote: