INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Anonymous

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello all,
I am new to the sarod and currently have a wonderful teacher, Ross, who has been trained by Ali Akbar Khan. Unfortunately, we are separated by miles of ocean. Does anyone out there know where I can find any instructional materials? I am especially interested in exercises and ornamentation. I am studying the book "North Indian Classical Music, the First Years Study". Any suggestions would be deeply appreciated.

Rasa Priya
Joshua Feinberg

Reply with quote  #2 
hi,

the Ali Akbar College has quite a few good books to work from, many of them were written by Ustad George Ruckert, one of Khansahib's senior disciples. i know for sure there are books by him with Rag Kirwani, Chandranandan, and Darbari Kanara. you may want to call the college store and ask if Georgeda has written anything with excercizes, i dont know but i should think he has.

best of luck,

jf

Rasa Priya

Reply with quote  #3 
Thanks for the tip JF. There are few educational resources available for the sarod. It would be nice if someone was able to put together an instructional video set and/or an instructional book. The book from Ali Akbar College, "Classical North Indian Music, the First Year in Study", is quite excellent. I wish it had a bit more exercises.

Rasa Priya
Joshua Feinberg

Reply with quote  #4 
rasa priya,

where are you located? i might know someone you could get in contact with. also, if you get a copy of Ravi Shankar's 1968 autobiography, "My Music, My life, " (it might be the other way around, i can never remember) there is a whole section in the back devoted to alankar, palta, sargam, murchana, gamak, krintan, and lots of other excercises. i know its written for sitar, but much of that material is universal. check it out.

best,

jf

Rasa Priya

Reply with quote  #5 
Aloha JF,