INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
drummerkjg

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi,

I heard of an Indian tradition where you set aside a week, and pretty much only practice - like waking up at 8am and starting right away, maybe taking a quick break for food or going to the bathroom here and there, but mostly just practicing until midnight. Maybe even working on just one thing the whole time.

What is the name for this? I'd like to look up more about it but I don't even know the proper name for it. I'm a western musician and curious how this might apply to me. A week seems like the perfect length of time for that amount of practice intensity.

I'm interested in the way musicians who do this organize that amount of time, and what they practice for that long, what their goals are, and the ways it is different from practicing the same amount of total time but spread out over a longer period. Also, I'd like to know what kind of preparation people do, if any- whether it's taking time to think about what you will work on all week, or mentally getting ready....or maybe anyone studying Indian music already has enough discipline and focus and energy where only practicing for a week isn't too difficult to begin with.

I'm going to try doing this, which will hopefully answer some questions, but since I'm not studying Indian music specifically I will never really know what it feels like from that perspective.

I would love to hear anything that anyone has to share about this, and any advice that anyone has.

Thank you!

Kate
RichardH

Reply with quote  #2 
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chilla_katna

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chilla-nashini
Dspeck

Reply with quote  #3