INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Sitarismylife

Reply with quote  #1 
Does anyone find any difference between Imratkauns by Utd.Imrat Khan and Mohankauns by Pt.Ravi Shankar?
chrisitar

Reply with quote  #2 
Hey! I can! I studied these ragas heavily in preparation for a concert honoring M. Ghandi. They do use almost the exact same tuning - Malkauns with shuddh ga or Rageshri with komal dha but the main difference I've spotted is that Mohankauns sometimes sprinkles a komal ga in the mix and Imratkauns uses shuddh re more frequently. There are only a few recordings of these ragas so a thorough comparison isn't as efficient as more popular ragas would be, but certain melodic differences can be heard when comparing them. I have a recording of Wajahat Khan playing Imratkauns from a concert if you'd like it. Otherwise, the only Mohankauns i've heard is by Ravi Shankar and the only Imratkauns is from Imrat Khan.

To my ear, Imratkauns is most similar to Rageshri with komal dha and Mohankauns is similar to Malkauns with shuddh ga.

Reply with quote  #3 
Thanks, chrisitar. I have been thinking over this over a long time. When you said about malkauns with suddha ga or rageshri with komal dha, it kind of left me thinking. I also sometimes confuse Parameshwari with Ahir Bhairav. Although there other differences as well, but at times, one scale of a raga simply resembles another due to the science of gram murchana. I don't yet know much about it. Perhaps someone could enlighten me more on that.
chrisitar

Reply with quote  #4 
Parameshwari was created by Ravi Shankar as well, although it uses the same tuning as Ahir (Sa, re, ga, ma, Dha, ni, sa - tanpura: sa, ma) it's a totally different sound. Also Ahir uses a bit of pancham and Parameshwari ignores it completely. The tuning is always just the skeleton of the raga. Ahir Bhairav changes the ga to shuddh and employs mixing Bhairav raga into Ahir. Things like ga ma re Sa, Sa ga ma, etc.

Reply with quote  #5