Indian Music Forums
Register Calendar Latest Topics Chat

Author   Comment   Page 1 of 2      1   2   Next
John Pitts

Reply with quote  #1 
http://www.lulu.com/shop/john-pitts/how-to-play-indian-sitar-raags-on-a-piano/paperback/product-22961686.html

FOR ADVENTUROUS PIANISTS

Hallo, I'd be grateful if you could share this with any pianists if appropriate - it is my brand new 258-page book of 24 Indian Sitar Raags completely reinvented for piano, plus a whole load of instruction and musical examples. I'm a British composer who spent 10 months in Pakistan 21 years ago.

My new book is designed to be enjoyed by good amateur pianists through to virtuosic professionals. It is suitable for any pianist who enjoys discovering new music, or who has an interest in music from other cultures, or who knows the pleasure of jazz noodling and wants to explore a rewarding and fresh (but centuries-old) form of improvisation. The amazing world of Indian raags has been opened up in this sympathetic but thorough reinvention for piano solo (or duet or two pianos).

Many thanks,
John
http://www.johnpitts.co.uk
PS: here's a through-composed 'raag' for virtuoso piano duet -
trippymonkey

Reply with quote  #2 
OH
24 Indian Sitar Raags completely reinvented for piano ????
MMM Interesting but you do know about srutis etc. The bending of notes that give Indian music, north & south, its brilliance & uniqueness.
How may one reproduce this on a fixed note instrument?

Might well indulge myself, thank you.

Nick
westsea

Reply with quote  #3 
Raags on a fixed note instrument?
Harmonium?
John Pitts

Reply with quote  #4 
Hallo - thanks for the nice comments, Nick, and for the very sensible questions. And Chilly Chicken, thanks for your response which I'd echo - you're right - the shruti and meend are lost, but there are things you can do to mitigate the loss, and anyway there is still a wealth of things within Indian raags that a pianist can enjoy.
Anonymous

Reply with quote  #5