INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
yukioarnab

Reply with quote  #1 
I started learning Sarod almost 10 years back but unfortunately a devastating bike accident (which affected my left hand badly) a week after I first touched the Sarod left me dreams shattered. For the last 5-6 years however I have recovered fully and have no problem with my hands anymore. Everytime I look a the Sarod lying unused and gathering dust I feel like crying. Only recently I decided to get it reskinned and get essential maintenance done and bring it back to a playing condition. It is an Amjad Ali Khan style Sarod.

I live in a place where there are no Sarod teachers for miles. Is there any instructional material available for absolute beginers or DVDs for basic learners? Where should I start - strumming, tuning the Sarod etc etc. In addition it would be very kind if some one guides me as to if I need to do some background study before I pick up learning Sarod once again.

Think of me as a clean slate.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Arnab Das
AlamKhan

Reply with quote  #2 
Arnab,